“The rules that govern minor employment during the school year include certain limitations that are different from those in place during the summer months,” said Labor Programs Director Lonnie Rogers, whose office enforces these laws. “We want to be sure that employers know these differences when setting work schedules and that minors are aware of when they are allowed to work.”
It is illegal for 14- and 15-year-olds to work between the hours of 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. prior to the start of any school day and between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. on any other day. Prior to the start of any school day, 16-year-olds cannot work beyond 11 p.m. and 17-year-olds cannot work after midnight.
All minors, whether enrolled in school or not, are subject to the state’s minor labor laws.
Minor labor laws affecting workers year round include prohibiting minors 13 and under from employment, except under certain circumstances, and having a minor employment certificate on file with their employer. This certificate, formerly known as a work permit, can be obtained from the local school board office and in most cases the high school.
Additionally, when school is in session, it is illegal for 14- and 15-year-olds to work more than three hours in any single day, Monday through Friday (more than eight hours on Saturday or Sunday) and more than 18 hours total in any week. When school is not in session, 14- and 15-year-olds are prohibited from working more than eight hours a day, more than six consecutive days in one week and more than 40 hours in a week.
State law prohibits workers under the age of 18 from working in certain types of occupations and performing hazardous duties, such as operating certain types of power-driven machinery, welding, roofing and performing demolition or wrecking work. Minors are also prohibited from working as delivery drivers. A complete list of hazardous duties and specific exceptions to these rules can be obtained online at www.LAWORKS.net.
Violations of the state’s minor labor laws carry criminal and civil penalties for each offense. Through its Labor Programs Division, the Louisiana Workforce Commission offers seminars for business managers on the state’s minor labor laws. There is no charge for the presentation, which lasts about an hour and can be conducted at the place of business.
For more information about minor labor laws, log onto www.LAWORKS.net and visit the “Louisiana Youth Works” portal. Managers interested in scheduling a minor labor laws seminar should contact Lonnie Rogers at 225-342-7690 to set up an appointment.
Louisiana Minor Labor Laws Fact Sheet
· Except under certain circumstances, minors under the age of 14 are prohibited from employment.
· 14 – 17 year olds must obtain an employment certificate from their school or school board office and have it on file with their employer before starting work. This requirement is in place year round.
· 14 – 17 year olds must be granted a documented, uninterrupted break of at least 30 minutes for each and every 5-hour work period.
· 14 and 15 year olds can work no more than three hours on a school day (8 hours on a non-school day) and no more than 18 hours during a school week (40 hours during a non-school week).
· 14 and 15 year olds can work as late as 9 p.m. when school is not in session or 7 p.m. prior to a school day.
· 16 and 17 year olds have no restrictions on how late they can work when there’s no school the next day.
· Prior to a school day, 16-year-olds can work until 11 p.m.; 17-year-olds until midnight.
· All minors must have an 8-hour rest period between work days.